Saturday, January 22, 2011

Dominic Moore's Shootout Winner: Good Goal or Illegal Double Touch? (Video)

In tonight’s shootout between the Tampa Bay Lightning and Florida Panthers, Lightning forward Dominic Moore scored the game winner, but should it have been the winner at all is the question?

During the shootout it appeared that the attempt by Moore was stopped by the right pad of Tomas Vokoun with the puck going backwards(1:12 of the video) and then being put home by Moore.  The question is whether or not that was a double touching by Moore which would be illegal and thus make the goal invalid. 

From Rule 24.2:
"No goal can be scored on a rebound of any kind (an exception being the puck off the goal post or crossbar, then the goalkeeper and then directly into the goal), and any time the puck crosses the goal line or comes to a complete stop, the shot shall be considered complete."

After a review the NHL War Room decided that because the puck never left the stick of Moore it did not constitute a double touch, so the goal was allowed to stand.

I do not buy that rationale from the league as I see a clear save on the play that if not redirected by Moore’s stick heads off towards the boards and not into the net, thus making it a rebound on the play.  Luckily for me I am not Dean Lombardi so there will be no 50K fine coming my way for disagreeing with the league.

What do you think?